Happy 25th: Stone Temple Pilots, PURPLE

Friday, June 7, 2019
Stone Temple Pilots - PURPLE Super Deluxe Album Cover

25 years ago today, Stone Temple Pilots released their sophomore album, an LP which defied the odds by failing to qualify as a slump and, indeed, going on to sell more than six million copies.

Produced by Brendan O’Brien, PURPLE definitely showed that the band’s debut album, CORE, was in no way a one-off success, starting with the fact that it premiered at the very top of the Billboard 200. More importantly, however, PURPLE took great pains to show that Stone Temple Pilots’ sound, which unquestionably fell into the realm of grunge, was evolving considerably, so if anyone thought that the band might fall away with the fading of that musical movement, they were wrong.

Between “Big Empty,” “Vasoline,” and “Interstate Love Song,” Stone Temple Pilots were ubiquitous on rock radio during 1994, but let’s face it: those songs continue to be played even now, which confirms just how strongly the band’s reputation was cemented during this era.

Given that this is the 25th anniversary, Rhino has decided to do with PURPLE what we did with CORE, which is to say that we’re putting out a Super Deluxe Edition of the album. It hits stores on September 13, and it’s going to be a 3-CD /1-LP set that’ll blow the minds of the band’s fans.

Wanna know what’ll be on it? Stay tuned: the full track listing is below! Oh, and if you order from the band’s website (http://www.stonetemplepilots.com), then you can secure a limited-edition bundle that also includes a bonus replica 7” vinyl single of “Interstate Love Song.” You’ll want to hurry, though: there are only 1,000 bundles!

Okay, so about that full track listing…


Disc One: Purple 2019 Remaster

1.    "Meat Plow"
2.    "Vasoline"
3.    "Lounge Fly"
4.    "Interstate Love Song"
5.    "Still Remains"
6.    "Pretty Penny"
7.    "Silvergun Superman"
8.    "Big Empty"
9.    "Unglued"
10.  "Army Ants"
11.  "Kitchenware & Candybars"

Disc Two: Early Versions, Demos & Acoustic

1.    "Meat Plow" - Early Version *
2.    "Interstate Love Song" - Early Version *
3.    "Big Empty" - Acoustic Version *
4.    "Unglued" - Demo *
5.    "Army Ants" - Demo *
6.    "Kitchenware & Candybars" - Demo *
7.    "Dancing Days"
8.    "She Knows Me Too Well" - Demo *
9.    "Interstate Love Song" - Acoustic Version *
Live At KROQ Acoustic Christmas 1994
10.    "Pretty Penny" - Acoustic Version *
11.    "Kitchenware & Candybars" - Acoustic Version *
12.    "Christmastime Is Here" - Acoustic Version *

Disc Three: Live at New Haven Vererans Memorial Coliseum, New Haven, CT, August 23, 1994

1.    "Vasoline" *
2.    "Silvergun Superman" *
3.    "Crackerman" *
4.    "Lounge Fly" *
5.    "Meat Plow" *
6.    "Still Remains" *
7.    "Gypsy Davy" *
8.    "Pretty Penny" *
9.    "Creep" *
10.  "Andy Warhol" *
11.  "Army Ants" *
12.  "Big Empty" *
13.  "Interstate Love Song" *
14.  "Plush" *
15.  "Unglued" *
16.  "Dead & Bloated" *
17.  "Sex Type Thing" *

* previously unreleased

Bonus "Interstate Love Song" 7-inch
Included with www.stonetemplepilots.com preorder, limited edition of 1,000 units

Side 1
"Interstate Love Song"

Side 2
"Lounge Fly"


For more information, click the buttons below: