Out Now: Jethro Tull, THIS WAS

Friday, November 9, 2018
JETHRO TULL, This  Was: 50th

As you probably already know (and if you don’t, it’s certainly not because we haven’t mentioned it), 2018 marks the 50th anniversary of the very first Jethro Tull show…or at least the very first show by the band after formally changing their name to Jethro Tull, anyway. But let’s set those semantics aside and focus on the fact that we’re continuing our celebration of the band hitting the big 5-0 by releasing a 50th anniversary edition of their debut album, THIS WAS.

What can you find within this 3-CD / 1-CD set? Glad you asked!

Here’s what you get:

- Original album and bonus tracks remixed in stereo by Steven Wilson
- Live BBC sessions recorded in 1968
- Original mono mix and original 1968 U.K. stereo mix
- Original album and bonus tracks remixed by Steven Wilson in 4.1 DTS and AC3
  Dolby Digital surround and 96/24 LPCM stereo
- Flat transfer of the 1968 stereo remix
- Presented in a case-bound DVD book filled with an extensive history of the album,
  track-by-track annotations by Ian Anderson, plus rare and unseen photographs


If you’re a fan, then you won’t be able to resist picking up a copy…or if you can’t afford to do so at the moment, it’s certainly destined to sit atop your holiday wish list.


Here’s the full track listing for your reading enjoyment, and please, for the sake of your operating system, don’t drool on the keyboard…

Track Listing:

Disc One: Steven Wilson Stereo Remix
1.    "My Sunday Feeling"
2.    "Some Day The Sun Won't Shine For You"
3.    "Beggar's Farm"
4.    "Move On Alone"
5.    "Serenade To A Cuckoo"
6.    "Dharma For One"
7.    "It's Breaking Me Up"
8.    "Cat's Squirrel"
9.    "A Song For Jeffrey"
10.  "Round"

Associated Recordings
11.  "Love Story"
12.  "A Christmas Song"
13.  "Serenade To A Cuckoo" (Take 1)*
14.  "Some Day The Sun Won't Shine For You" (Faster Version)*
15.  "Move On Alone" (Flute Version)*
16.  "Ultimate Confusion"*

Disc Two
1.    "So Much Trouble" (BBC Sessions)
2.    "My Sunday Feeling" (BBC Sessions)
3.    "Serenade To A Cuckoo" (BBC Sessions)
4.    "Cat's Squirrel" (BBC Sessions)
5.    "A Song For Jeffrey" (BBC Sessions)
6.    "Love Story" (BBC Sessions)
7.    "Stormy Monday" (BBC Sessions)
8.    "Beggar's Farm" (BBC Sessions)
9.    "Dharma For One" (BBC Sessions)
10.  "A Song For Jeffrey" (Original Mono Mix)
11.  "One For John Gee" (Original Mono Mix)
12.  "Someday The Sun Won't Shine For You" - Faster Version (Original Mono Mix)*                             
13.  "Love Story" (Original Mono Mix)
14.  "A Christmas Song" (Original Mono Mix)
15.  "Sunshine Day"
16.  "Aeroplane"
17.  "Blues For The 18th"
18.  "Love Story" (1969 US Promo Single Stereo Mix for FM Radio Airplay)
19.  US FM Radio Spot #1
20.  US FM Radio Spot #2

Disc Three
1.    "My Sunday Feeling" (Original Stereo Mix)
2.    "Some Day The Sun Won't Shine For You" (Original Stereo Mix)
3.    "Beggar's Farm" (Original Stereo Mix)
4.    "Move On Alone" (Original Stereo Mix)
5.    "Serenade To A Cuckoo" (Original Stereo Mix)
6.    "Dharma For One" (Original Stereo Mix)
7.    "It's Breaking Me Up" (Original Stereo Mix)
8.    "Cat's Squirrel" (Original Stereo Mix)
9.    "A Song For Jeffrey" (Original Stereo Mix)
10.  "Round" (Original Stereo Mix)
11.  "My Sunday Feeling" (2008 Remastered Version - Mono)
12.  "Some Day The Sun Won't Shine For You" (2008 Remastered Version - Mono)
13.  "Beggar's Farm" (2008 Remastered Version - Mono)
14.  "Move On Alone" (2008 Remastered Version - Mono)
15.  "Serenade To A Cuckoo" (2008 Remastered Version - Mono)
16.  "Dharma For One" (2008 Remastered Version - Mono)
17.  "It's Breaking Me Up" (2008 Remastered Version - Mono)
18.  "Cat's Squirrel" (2008 Remastered Version - Mono)
19.  "A Song For Jeffrey" (2008 Remastered Version - Mono)
20.  "Round" (2008 Remastered Version - Mono)


- Original album and bonus tracks remixed by Steven Wilson in 4.1 DTS and AC3 Dolby Digital surround
and 96/24 LPCM stereo
- "Love Story" and "A Christmas Song" in 5.1 surround
- 1969 U.S. stereo mix in 96/24 LPCM stereo

* previously unreleased


For more information, click the buttons below: