Out This Week: Chic, THE CHIC ORGANIZATION: 1977-1979

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

It’s been more than four decades since CHIC first began filling dance floors with their music, and during the course of the first few years of their career, they provided the world with such classic singles as “Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah),” “Everybody Dance,” “Le Freak,” “I Want Your Love,” and “Good Times.” In celebration of the band’s career, Atlantic / Rhino is paying tribute to CHIC’s creative forces – Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards – by releasing a new collection: THE CHIC ORGANIZATION 1977-1979.

This compilation – which is being released as a 5-CD set as well as a 6-disc vinyl set – includes CHIC’s first three albums: CHIC, C’EST CHIC, and RISQUE. All three of the albums have been newly remastered by Miles Showell, whose work on the material was overseen by executive producer Nile Rodgers. The vinyl edition of the set will also include an exact reproduction of CHIC's first single, a 12" promo for "Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah)" that Buddah Records released in 1977 prior to the band signing to Atlantic, and the vinyl set as a whole has been mastered at half-speed and pressed on 180-gram vinyl audio. 

Both the CD and vinyl sets will also include 7” edits and 12” mixes of CHIC’s singles from the 1977-1979 era, and – to go beyond their own work – they will also offer a newly remastered version of Sister Sledge’s WE ARE FAMILY album, which was written and produced by Rodgers and Edwards. In addition, the box sets feature new essays about CHIC’s work, with an exclusive essay by music historian Ashley Kahn available only on the vinyl set.

Here’s the full track listing of the sets:

Nile Rodgers' Signature Edition Remasters

Album and Track Listings 

Chic (1977)
1.    "Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah)"
2.    "São Paulo"
3.    "You Can Get By"
4.    "Everybody Dance"
5.    "Est-ce Que C'est Chic?"
6.    "Falling in Love with You"
7.    "Strike Up the Band"

C'est Chic (1978)
1.    "Chic Cheer"
2.    "Le Freak"
3.    "Savoir Faire"
4.    "Happy Man"
5.    "I Want Your Love"
6.    "At Last I Am Free"
7.    "Sometimes You Win"
8.    "(Funny) Bone"

Sister Sledge - We Are Family (1979)
1.    "He's The Greatest Dancer"
2.    "Lost In Music"
3.    "Somebody Loves Me"
4.    "Thinking Of You"
5.    "We Are Family"
6.    "Easier To Love"
7.    "You're A Friend To Me"
8.    "One More Time"

Risqué (1978)
1.    "Good Times"
2.    "A Warm Summer Night"
3.    "My Feet Keep Dancing"
4.    "My Forbidden Lover"
5.    "Can't Stand to Love You"
6.    "Will You Cry (When You Hear This Song)"
7.    "What About Me?"

Original '77-'79 Remixes and Edits
1.    "Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah)" (7" Edit)
2.    "Everybody Dance" (12" Mix)
3.    "You Can Get By" (7" Edit)
4.    "Everybody Dance" (7" edit)
5.    "Le Freak" (7" Edit)
6.    "I Want Your Love" (7" Edit)
7.    "Good Times" (7" Edit)
8.    "My Forbidden Lover" (7" Edit)
9.    "My Forbidden Lover" (12" Mix)
10.  "My Feet Keep Dancing" (7" Edit)

Vinyl Boxed Set Exclusive: Buddah Records 12" Promotional Single
1.    "Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah)"
2.    "São Paulo"

For more information, click the buttons below: